“Crazy” -Jade


I am in aw of my scar.

It’s big and brash and

Two toned

like maple brown bacon

Hinting at bloody battles which once

Sizzled so hot.
I always preferred sausage
For the way the juices oozed out and

Penetrated my taste buds

Splashing in my saliva.

And you think I’m crazy…..

and thats okay.

Today,

I reclaim the word. I like sausage but not in reference to a masculine package

Objectified-shoved into my gaping mouth.

And you think I’m crazy– like a broken record replaying my traumas

Reliving them as if I am still 19 years old

Pulling darts out of my skin. These labels..

I ached
But as my cries dripped into my soft breast
Seeping through my pores, were your acidic
Words:

You’re getting bigger

STOP EATING SO MUCH

You’re depressed energy is draining me

Come suck my dick

Stop saying your gay

I can treat you right

STOP STOP STOP

BREATHE. THERE IS SUCH POWER IN GOING IN. AND OUT.
Just sitting here watching my chest

rise and fall then rise again as

That memory of hurt simmers down.

I am grounded in healing my anxiety.
Words, I speak you into fruition:

I replant myself into fresh soil

Rich with transformative growth as the

Universe harvests me into natures of my

Truest potential.

What am I doing here?!

And you think I’m crazy…

for digging so deep between thick thighs that ground my pride

searching for my

Womanhood

at the center my hidden treasure.

I am imperfectly connected to she whom chose to journey on as rejection swung like thick branches and unrequited love stung to the core…

A boomerang always returning to

Meet me at the center of this vicious cycle.

And you think I’m crazy…
Cause,

Ain’t I a woman?
Sojourner Asked the same

Question

Of herself.

Freeing her being

Leading us into courageous truths
Sown bravely into hundreds of quilts
For
Generations to come.
My blood line may not be

Directly rooted in the

Underground Railroad

But a heritage so
RICH Lives in the shine
Of my thick eyebrows
The flair of my short

Eyelashes

The spring of a head full of

Kinky curls
Falling near the rise

Of high cheekbones
Striking my smooth

melanin skin
With hints of diversity clauses in the

Make up of

my natural beauty
At it’s finest.
As the daughter of a Queendom

I will own it

Phenomenally,

like Maya.
You still think I’m crazy?

I am breaking barriers of insanity

Smudging the binaries of my femininity

You may survive alone,

Journeying on for connectivity.

It’s ongoing, but as I take your hand,

Smashing societal stigmas we fight within

I’m still Jade, on a road of self discovery…

Absorbing Peace and all the crazy vibes…

It’s okay. Will you dive in love with me?!

2 comments

    1. Awwww!!!! Yes, I’ve been on a 3 year journey of self love, and it’s been beautiful even in the face of pain & despair. It’s a continuous lesson of what authentic love is!!!

Leave a comment